Sharing Is Caring!

The last few weeks, I’ve been looking to volunteer at various places, food banks, homeless shelters, soup kitchens… I’ve been informed that due to low budgets some places aren’t taking on any volunteers. I’m waiting to hear from a couple of ‘maybes’ though so fingers crossed. In the meantime my 8 year old son, Finley and I have come up with a plan!

Every morning on the way to work, I pass homeless people in Birmingham City Centre, sleeping in doorways and there are many Big Issue sellers about. There are many great charities that are working hard to help people.

Finley has kindly suggested helping to make lunch boxes to hand out. Enough to fill a backpack and to provide meals, drinks and snacks for ten people. It’s not going to change the world, we know, but little things may help. Also it’ll prevent him from taking things for granted when we think of those less fortunate. So tomorrow morning is the first mission to hand out some food! Then week by week we will have new ideas to make a small difference. Peace and love!

10 thoughts on “Sharing Is Caring!

  1. Sapling House says:

    How lovely 🙂 The world needs more kindness in it xo

  2. Kris Mole says:

    Peace and love (but I said the ‘peace’ bit in a gangsta style). x

  3. Small actions can change the world! Well done Claire! 😉

  4. Dimple says:

    Thanks for liking my blog. In my country there’re no food banks, homeless shelters and soup kitchens for homeless people. You do something that’s really inspiring, thanks.

  5. Bettieluv says:

    “. . . due to low budgets some places aren’t taking on any volunteers . . . ” That’s puzzling. You’d think that low budgets would be why they’d need (unpaid) volunteers.

    • This is exactly what I thought. Offering free help too. They told me the budgets weren’t there to train volunteers.. Puzzling… However, since my last post, an amazing charity that works on food donations only has contacted me and I’ve helped them today. These guys are like angels working selflessly to help others. Really inspiring. I will write a separate post explaining to raise awareness for them. We fed nearly 100 homeless people today and hot meals too! The Midland Langar Seva Society. Thanks for reading my blog 🙂

  6. Obara Meji says:

    Kudos to you keep on doing what you are doing! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

